MattePainting.Org
HOME Gallery Store FAQ Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MattePainting.Org > Showcase > Artists Showcase
Reload this Page Starno "One Avenue"
Artists Showcase Final, Finished Work Only (NO WIP, NO Critique)

Starno "One Avenue"
(#1)
Old

Default Starno "One Avenue" - 03-10-2006, 08:33 AM

Hi,

This is a matte-painting for a new building in New York City area. I did it for Alpha-Vision as a previsualization before the real construction.

The building was done in Maya by a modeler at Alpha-Vision and then, when I got the all the passes such as occlusion pass, rgb, puzzle map, etc, I finished the job in photoshop by adding textures and painting. I retouched the origianl photo by adding speedlines, cars, people, sunset and a lot of color corrections.

Thank for comments.

Frederic St-Arnaud
www.starno.net

(#2)
Old

Default 03-10-2006, 11:01 AM

Hi,
That looks fantastic. I'm fairly new to this . I come from a "traditional" photography background. I became really fascinated with matte painting a while ago. How do you texture a thing like that. It looks really incredible. I can handle photoshop but stuff like that makes me realize I've still got a lot to learn.

Best wishes,

Stefan.
www.stefandebatselier.com
(#3)
Old

Default 03-10-2006, 11:59 AM

Hi Stephan,

By the way, you have an impressive collection of celebrity photos on your website. I have no doubt on you about working with cameras and photos. congratulation for your work.

How do I texture a thing like that? Well it could be hard and long to write it into this forum. Quickly, you need good photos and textures, a good knowledge of 3D softwares and Photoshop as well and the rest comes from you... I guess.

Frederic St-Arnaud
www.starno.net
(#4)
Old

Default 03-10-2006, 12:03 PM

Very well integrated ! You should share the 3D model render with the rest of people , so everyone can see the advantage using 3D as a base . . . .

http://www.alpaltiner.com