PDA

View Full Version : HOW MUCH DOES A MATTE PAINTER EARN IN UK??

youpihoups
02-19-2008, 09:01 AM
Hello there.

I am would like to know more about the average salary as matte painter in UK.

Does anyone have any idea about it? It's very hard to get a set amount on a yearly wage for full time work, as opposed to freelance quotes. I am working full time... and I'm pretty sure I'm not on the right amount.

It would be useful to know our value on the market ...

As a begginer ?

As middle level ?

As Senior ?

THANKS ...

Justin Atkinson
02-19-2008, 10:07 AM
Mind your own business! :P

youpihoups
02-20-2008, 04:08 AM
Can I have a real debate please !!!

graphmac
02-20-2008, 06:15 AM
Yeah, it would be nice to find out. (I could ask a friend who is working on Hellboy 2, but it seems rude to ask.)

I'm currently a concept artist, but would like to know if the troubles and stress of being a matte painter is worth the effort involved.

How much would a FT experienced (4 yrs) matte painter get at a VFX company in the UK in London. Just a number.

a.30-40K
b.40-50K
c.50-80K

(A) seems like a good number, I'm not talking about your Dusso's etc.

Alex Jenyon
02-20-2008, 06:57 AM
I'm currently a concept artist, but would like to know if the troubles and stress of being a matte painter is worth the effort involved.

Why would you think that a matte painter would earn more money than a concept artist? If anything, it would be the other way round.

And why would you think it's more trouble and stress?

There is a huge amount of crossover between concept art, matte painting, 3D, texture work and compositing. And because there is so much crossover, I've never really noticed any massive difference is rates between the different disciplines.

But yes, as a really rough guide, (A) is probably a good number.

If you're going to choose this career for the money, you're on to a loser from the word go...

youpihoups
02-20-2008, 08:22 AM
To alex ...