PDA

View Full Version : Using reference

dragons0088
10-27-2007, 04:42 PM
Hey, I posted this on the sketches thread but it seems like no one goes on there very frequently so I will ask here. I am completely new to matte painting, I've never done one before though I have been admiring peoples work on forums for about a year now. The sketches thread has convinced me to at least start doing some paintings.

I have several photos I'd like to practice painting from but I do not know how to set up my reference. How do you set up your reference so you can see it and what your painting at the same time? Do you just print it out and look at it that way or put it to the side of the screen and try to paint a little bit at a time? Or do I need to buy a 2nd computer screen? I have never done this before so all help is great! Thanks in advance.

nickmarshallvfx
10-27-2007, 06:01 PM
You certainly don't need a second computer. I normally just have it open as a jpeg and flick back to it when I need to refresh my minds eye. The thing is to try not to become too much of a slave to your reference. Dont colour pick from your reference, try and pick the colours yourself to develop your artistic eye. Of course, you could always print it out too if you prefer to have it next to you.
Just feel free to deviate from your reference if you want to try different looks / different moods etc, coz that way you will develop your skills more.

Nick

RiKToR
11-05-2007, 04:48 AM
I also use a dual monitor setup for multitasking sometimes, Id have the painting on the left and the reference on the right. This is fairly easy with most modern video cards.

mastermesh
11-06-2007, 10:43 AM