PDA

View Full Version : Traditional Oil Painting

kmblackbear06
06-08-2006, 08:39 PM
Hey everyone,here is my second oil painting. Not a matte, but I think its a nice change to show some traditional art once in a while. Dylan, if your out there, do you have any pointers for me with the oil paintings? I have seen your paintings on your site, and they are fantastic. Anyone else have experience to share on oil paintings?

http://www.kylemitchelldesigns.com/assets/cssimg/trad/paint/1.jpg

RiKToR
06-08-2006, 08:59 PM
I have some really bad experience with oil paintings, but as far as I can tell the palette on this is quite good, though the actual idea is a little on the bland side. It is good for practice and study though.

Speculart
06-08-2006, 10:31 PM
Years and years. Heres a couple.
Start lean and work to fat, and dark to light. That means start off with watery turpsy paint shove all your darks in (you can cover the whole canvas) this will dry fairly quickly, while its wet its good to grab a rag and wipe away the lighter tones so you end up with a nice value under painting. This is the way the old masters used to paint and you can get a great feel of shape like this, with the lights emerging from the darks The real dark bits will remain as they are untill the end. The mid tones are done thicker and the lightest are the thickest or fattest right at the end.
Oils blend really well so you can use a fast drying medium and put in a nice smooth blend and then go over it after to scuff up parts.
For really sharp edges use masking tape to mask off areas. But here is the real tip. Get a bottle of Liquin or fast dry medium and paint it thinly on the edge you are going to paint. Let it dry. This way the oil cant get under the tape and leave burry marks. When you rip off the tape do it when the paint is dry and do it carefully.

bcottman
06-08-2006, 11:22 PM