PDA

View Full Version : Pluginz.com contest entry

Paranoiker
05-13-2006, 01:21 AM
Hi there,

I'm new to mattepainting but i saw this website and was so amazed about the work you all did. So i read the article about the "pluginz mattepainting contest" and like "sregert", i signed in. The image below is the result.
I had quite problems to integrate the snake into the image and - i don't know why - but i think, especially the headpart of it doesn't fit into the image. Could anyone tell me what's wrong with it? Is it the contrast? Or is it just the fact that everyone knows what a cobra looks like and that it couldn't be that size?

Thanks for your reply!

http://www.paranoiafx.com/downloads/mattepaintings/ParanoiaFX_PluginzContest.jpg

sregert
05-13-2006, 01:41 AM
Your matte is welldone but i think your snake should open his mouth to
spit flames, it would be more ralistic and dramatic...
and maybe more smoke into the castle... :D

bvz
05-13-2006, 12:13 PM
Just a quick few comments...

Great start overall. I like the mood you are striking with this one. I also appreciate your resistance to over-saturating any elements in the plate. As to your snake, I think the primary issue you are having with it is in the lighting. There are a couple of ways to see this:

First, In photoshop throw a levels adjustment layer on top of your whole image and then do the following:

crank the input white level down to about 40 and you will see that the snake is as dark as some of the darker parts of your plate. In reality, something that far from camera would not have so many darks. You will need to use curves or something to lift the blacks on your snake element to fix that. Notice that this issue is not affecting the grave stones you added which is one reason why they are integrating better than the snake.