PDA

View Full Version : First ever matte - comments please

nickmarshallvfx
05-07-2006, 06:04 AM
Hi everyone
I just got Dylans dvd and this is my first attempt at my own matte. Please can you give comments and crits, it would be greatly appreciated. Please be gentle lol.

http://pic4.picturetrail.com/VOL762/3253510/9681213/144848688.jpg

Nick

adam
05-07-2006, 07:44 AM
Hi Nick,
Good start, it's nice to see you posting. Couple quick notes..
There are some horizontal lines visibly running through
the painting, so you might want to paint them out. I would also
consider adding more contrast between light and shadow side to help
define the rocks more clearly as rocks. Your strokes appear mostly
vertical, so perhaps you could try further defining rock shapes, reference
is handy for that.
Keep it up!
-Adam

nickmarshallvfx
05-07-2006, 08:46 AM
Thanks Adam. Yea i just noticed those strange horizontal lines, i must have missed them.
I think i do need to get more contrast between light and dark, and you are definitely right about using vertical strokes. I thought it would help them look real as the rock has been weathered into upward spikes, but i think it lacks depth now, as no rocks have all vertical shapes, even if they have been weathered vertical.
I guess i mostly wanted to make the rock formations fit into the painting, and see if i could get a bit of depth to the painting, and test my brush skills. I definitely need to invest in a tablet!
By the way, i forgot to mention in my first post, the only photo element in this is the ground. Everything else is brushed.

Thanks for the comments so far!

Nick

RiKToR
05-16-2006, 04:02 AM