PDA

View Full Version : Trying to get a haze effect


FES
05-03-2006, 07:20 AM
Can anyone offer me advice, or a walk-thru or tutorial. I'm trying to get a haze effect on some mountains in a background and am having some trouble. I'm working in photoshop, but also have painter. Thanks in advance for any tips or links. :)

kmblackbear06
05-03-2006, 08:47 AM
There are many ways to achieve this, and i think it all depends of the look your going for. Here are a couple ways I am trying.


1. Do a simple color overlay on the layer (choose an unsaturated color for the haze, and set your layer opacity.

2. Use a brush with a low opacity and paint it in

3. Use a gradient from your haze color to transparent.

Hope this helps some :)

Ricardo Garces
05-03-2006, 08:56 AM
Hi FES,

you could also try this:

- Pick the color of the sky above the mountains.
- Create a new layer
- Make a box over the area where you want the haze
- Go to filters, blur, motion blur
- Play around with motion blur
- Change the opacity of that layer
- Erase what is not necessary

Presto! You have the haze effect done.

Hope I was usefull. Best regards.

FES
05-03-2006, 08:57 AM
Thanks Kyle. I'll definitely give that a try.

Tightpantsarecool
05-03-2006, 09:18 AM
I just:

-make a new layer
-brush with a soft white(or light grey) anywhere you want haze
-set blending mode OF THE LAYER to soft light
-then gaussian blur to whatever you want. I normally use 20 or 30, sometimes 40.
-you can change the opacity too to get how you want it

Then, if I have to, with a soft eraser, erase some of the edges to make it fit.

Hope this helps. Even though it isnt as effective as others.

Tightpantsarecool
07-19-2006, 10:18 AM
I think my way is the same as the above....I didnt read them all.

-Grab a soft brush, whatever size you want
-Pick the color of whatever you want. Normally, it's the light part of the sky. I start off with white, then add some light grey at low opacities.
-Brush the "shape" of your haze, and wherever you want it.
-Now, do a gaussion blur. Make you sure get it nice in smooth. It's okay if you loose a lot of the brushing, you can always duplicate you layer.
-After that, adjust you layer settings. It is sometimes good to put it on softlight. Or, just lower the layer's opacity.

Hope that helps.