PDA

View Full Version : Graduation Reel

RiKToR
03-01-2006, 09:16 PM
I have just finished my graduation reel for my animation school Collins College. Though I graduated with a BA my reel focuses on the visual FX end of cinema since I spent number of years as media arts and sound guru. Check it out I also did a real quick matte for the end of my reel, any feed back would be nice I'm planning on adding some more it's a bit short probably a few more mattes.

www.blurred-pixels.com (http://www.blurred-pixels.com)

Thx

O'Connor
03-02-2006, 12:19 AM
Congratulations on Graduating!

I have some critiques for your reel. These are just my own thoughts on what you can improve.

Why are there no shadows below the motorcycle? There are highlights on the bike but no shadows from the bike. The Maya hallway shot that you have near the start of your reel. I think you should get rid of it. It is visually boring and really doesn't display much skill. Your reel is all about showing off what you can do.

There is one thing that really stands out in the Maya Combustion composite. The gun carrying girl in the "alien" environment. I'm pretty sure the girl was shot on a green screen because there is green spill on her side and under her arms. Also you may want to check her alpha because when she walks by I can see the background through her arm. I assume this is from the key you pulled on that footage. It would be an easy fix with some rotoscoping.

Also her gun seems to fade out when she spins towards the camera. Personally I'm not a big fan of the huge defocus on her as the pod opens up. Of course there would be a defocus but it seems to be too much. It just appears that by the time the pod is in focus, the girl and the bg continue unfocusing when they should have stopped.