PDA

View Full Version : Any VIDEO TUTORIAL on camera projection for Maya?

Manger
12-10-2005, 05:43 PM
Hi!..

I know the answer is no, so.. this is more like a request:

Is it possible that someone, with free time, could make a -very fast, no detailed, no voice, no edition, square geometries- video tutorial of Camera Projection technique in Maya?

I mean, just to know the steps "visually" because I've read tutorials and, well, i'm a kind of noob in the "3d world".

I cant wait to try this technique with some works... is boring (and limited) to make them "2d" in After Effects ..as a composition

..also, Is this possible in Maya L.E. ?

Thanks and sorry bad english.

Germán-

bcottman
12-11-2005, 12:01 AM
Sorry I cant post a video but here are some screen captures I took of the basic layout of a personal project I did a while ago.
http://brentoncottman.com/siteImages/mattes/CastleDraculaCamProjDetail.htm

and here is a link to the animation.
http://brentoncottman.com/CastleDraculaAnimation.htm

as for setting up the shader. I usually plug a projected texture into the incandescence of a lambert and turn down every thing else. (you can also plug it into the ambient color or use a constant shader). then set the projection type to perspective, link to a frozen version of the camera you rendered from, and set the fit type to resolution. also you should set the filter under "effects" in the file texture node to 0.

If you need an alpha projected as well you just link it to the same camera and plug it into the lamberts transparency. Also, I have to multiply the alpha over painting otherwise I leaves a halo on the transparent areas.. I sure there is probably another workaround for this.

probably missed something but that is the gist of it.

hope that is a help.

Brenton

roguenroll
12-11-2005, 01:44 AM
post the animation, if you have it. It would be cool to see.

adam
12-11-2005, 10:26 AM
Nice job Brenton.. and it's interesting to see your patch/projection layout.